Why casual sexism at UCT matters


I light of a picket at Leo Marquard Residence of UCT yesterday, where it was so clear that UCT perpetuates both patriarchy and rape culture in sometimes obvious, and sometimes subtle ways. I wan to share an article written by Dela Gwala about sexism at UCT

Gender-Specs

This article was originally written for the FeministsSA blog. That site is currently being revamped and offline so I thought I’d post it here:

“The girls here are all sluts man, is it any better at Rhodes?”. I overheard this question on Jammie plaza last year. The unidentified dudebro essentially ruined my lunch and made me vow to continue hiding out in the postgraduate corners of this institution.  Against my better judgement, I continued to take tea breaks on those pigeon-infested stairs. One day, I came across a poster promoting UCT’s netball team. It was basically a full-blown shot of several pairs of disembodied legs with the catchphrase “UCT netball team revealed”. Strange I thought, whenever I see a poster that concerns the rugby team their legs are attached to the rest of their bodies. A few days later, walking back to the dingy postgrad labs, I noticed another poster…

View original post 559 more words

This entry was posted in Reblogged and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

