2015 Aug. 9: Balancing culture and activism


inkanyiso.org

by Jacqui Mseleku-Ngwane

In my line of work I have seen so much abuse and injustice that happens in the name of culture. I am a dynamic Zulu woman, raised in a cosmopolitan household so different from normal Zulu households. I guess because my granny was of mixed cultures and I don’t think she even knew what Zulu culture meant completely. I could be wrong, I never learned any cultural practices that I was supposed to learn. All I learned was how to be a dynamic assertive powerhouse who must not be limited by any challenge or circumstances.

No one prepared me for my marriage into a family so immersed in culture. It was like I was a child again learning a new set of rules of behavior where a woman is submissive, reserved, quiet, not allowed to take control of her life. It was an awakening to the challenges of…

View original post 1,046 more words

This entry was posted in Reblogged. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

