“Giving birth to my father” at the Cape Town Fringe


Giving-Birth-to-my-Father-31A friend of mine, Lihle Dhlomo, is performing at the Cape Town Fringe! Her one woman piece, written by Wiseman Mncube, is titled “Giving Birth to my Father” and is playing at the Alexander Bar in town. You can check here when, and book as well. I haven’t seen the show yet, but I am going to indulge in shameless promoting here, because she’s a friend and this is my blog and I do what I want here. I urge everyone to go and see it, that is the bottom line. The blurb about it is fairly small: “On the day that she is getting her freedom back, she is afraid to walk out of jail. She survived 18 years of imprisonment by using her imagination. She doesn’t know what is waiting for her outside nor whether her imagination will be enough.” However, it has won the New Writers Award and a Standard Bank Ovation Award at the National Arts Festival 2014, and they probably know what they are talking about (unlike me). It is playing everyday, at varying hours; and after watching it I’ll post a review here that I can assure you will be positive, because I know, I just do.

This entry was posted in News & Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

